Arctic Exposure Testimonials

Please find below Arctic Exposure Testimonials from prior workshop attendees and colleagues. If you just finished a workshop with us and would like to send us a testimonial you can do fill out this form

 

“The photo tour with Skarpi through the Golden Circle was wonderful! Not only did I get to see some absolutely stunning scenery, but I truly learned a lot about photography techniques from Skarpi. Although I’m not entirely novice, I certainly am no expert, so his tutelage was exceptionally appreciated. He helped me with everything from camera settings to composition, compensating for a dull sky, and even gave me some tips for shooting the northern lights for later that night (which, thanks to him, I actually managed to do fairly well). He has a great sense of humor and was very easy going and patient with me when I didn’t know everything. Overall, it was a great day, great learning experience and well worth all the money. I highly recommend both Iceland Aurora and Skarpi, especially if you have the ability to do a one-on-one tour as I did – absolutely fantastic! Visited February 2014”

Kate B.
Los Angeles, California

Very few know it as well, as well as someone who grew up playing in the canyons, shores, waterfalls and geo thermal pools as Native Skarpi Thrainsson. The first trip I met Skarpi on, he was full of stories of places he wanted me to see. After several years and many trips he’s still telling me about more locations he wants to take me, something only someone who loves the wilderness will do! Skarpi is also a remarkable photographer, with many spectacular images that only a local could create. He has a remarkable talent for finding great locations at the right time, a skill he acquired on his own. It is an honor to know this true “Viking” and have shared some great memories of Iceland with.

Marc Muench

“Going to Iceland was always a big dream for me. Ever since I started doing photography as my hobby I wanted to go there and experience the country. I was really lucky to join the September 2014 tour with Skarpi. I still remember every day and every moment of it. I was able to see and photograph most of the iconic places but also areas that are not known to most tourists. Skarpi was a great guide, companion and coach. I recommend joining one of his tours if you are planning to visit Iceland.”

Alex Dylikowski

“I visited Iceland in December on the Aurora and Ice Cave tour with Skarpi. This being my first photo tour, I spent a lot of time researching different companies and photo tours before finally deciding on Arctic Exposure.  I’m glad I did.  Not only was Skarpi easy to talk to, being from Iceland, he knew a lot about the area and the history. Despite Iceland having one of the worst storms in decades during our trip, Skarpi made sure we were still able to see all the places we were supposed to, providing some great photo opportunities. Skarpi often shot alongside us and was always available for questions, if needed. I hope to one day return and if so, I’d gladly go with Skarpi and Arctic Exposure. Thanks for everything, I hope to make it back one day!”

Steve Hinch
Professional Photographer / USA

Just returned from the Autumn Workshop 2017 with Skarpi (and his vehicle!) in Iceland. What a fabulous experience. Every day was an adventure! Skarpi quietly and unobtrusively made sure everyone was happy. The accommodation he chose for us was just perfect, and the food was always delicious. It did help that we had good weather, GREAT Northern lights, champagne at sunset with an arctic fox trotting by. We had a great group of people who were kind, considerate, and helpful which helped to make this the adventure of a lifetime. I learnt quite a few new things on the photography front, and I have come away with some great shots. For my personal interest, I may leave out more of the “iconic” sights as they are quite full of tourists and there is plenty to photograph and see without them, but that is a very personal perspective. Thanks Johann and Skarpi for a well organized, happy week!!

Jetje Japhet
South Africa

“Dear Skarpi and Örvar,
Thank you for a wonderfully organized photography tour of Iceland. I have been on many photography tours, and this was certainly one of the very best. I am particularly grateful to you for being so professional, knowledgeable, patient and accommodating with all participants and for carefully choosing most spectacular shooting locations. Your able leadership, guidance and planning made this the most memorable trip on personal and photographic level. You helped me to bring back numerous photographs of spectacular Icelandic nature and wildlife. Moreover, you helped me to bring back wonderful memories of your magnificent country and its warm and friendly people that would last me a lifetime. I would recommend your tour to all my friends with no hesitation. With best regards,”

Ilya Raskin
USA

I intend to go back to Iceland with Arctic Exposure in 2020. I would highly recommend Arctic Exposure to any photographer who wishes to visit Iceland.

Allen Shapiro
Canada

Travelled with our fearless and patient expert guide Skarpi through Iceland for 10 wonderful days. Learned a ton about photography and how to see the world differently. Totally worth it!

Val Shafran
USA

“I have just returned from a photo Tour of North Iceland in the Winter with our guide Skarpi. We were lucky enough to have one glorious night of the Aurora which completed our trip nicely. Skarpi is a wonderful guide and a true light chaser. He got us to every potential situation to maximize our opportunity to capture sunrises, sunsets and Aurora’s. He is extremely knowledgeable as a photographer and gave us many pointers on maximizing our skills as photographers. Being a native Icelander he knows a lot about the life and landscapes of Iceland. He was able to share with us stories about the culture and customs of Iceland including Icelandic culinary dishes and the not to be missed Porramatur.”

Steven Eisen
USA

Dear friends. We use the services offered by the company, realizing a customized script. We have received as a guide Mr. Aron Reynisson, born in Iceland and an excellent connoisseur of the history, culture and characteristics of the island. It made our experience unique. The knowledge, experience, dexterity and great photo tips he has given us, have made our trip very special. One difference was his ability as a driver and the vehicle used (a modified Sprinter van) – both increased the success of our expedition. Certainly, we will all recommend to Arctic Exposure and our guide Aron

Fabiano S Pacheco

“They say that Iceland is like Disneyland for photographers – the land of waterfalls, volcanoes, glaciers, and puffins! For photographers, Skarpi’s expertise is unique. If you visit the famous locations, he’ll take you at times when the light is good, few tourists, and show you different perspectives. He’ll also take you to hidden gems that even locals don’t know about – the secret waterfall, a tiny church, a deserted fishing shed, or even a three-horned sheep! Skarpi’s knowledge of good light in unpredictable weather means he can adjust the itinerary accordingly, and provide us with the best possible shooting conditions day or night.On our private tour, Skarpi accommodated us in what we called “The Taj Mahal” – no need to for camping in tents, but he had a luxurious campervan equipped with beds, kitchen and power. And Skarpi cooks up an amazing barbecue of lamb and bacon!When spending so many hours each day with a photographic guide, the wrong personality can drive you mad! Skarpi is courteous, hospitable, respectful, accommodating, and good-humoured. What more could you want in Iceland, but a genuine Viking professional photographer with big lenses, a big truck and a campervan?”

Desmond Chu
Sydney, Australia

“In February 2014, I went on a 10-day group tour with Skarpi along the Southwest coast. Our small group was guided to the best sites at the time the light was right. In August, on our way to Europe, my wife and I asked Skarpi to create a 4-day tour to photograph puffins on the cliffs at Látrabjarg and landscapes on the way to and from Reykjavik. On our way back to Canada in September, he put together a 2-day tour of the fall colours around Þingvellir National Park and the waterfalls at Hraunfossar. He truly listened to what we wanted to see and photograph and made it happen. We came home with wonderful images of Iceland.”

Stacey Skalkos, Australia

This was an amazing experience! I cannot say enough great things about Arctic Exposure and Skarpi! He went out of his way to make sure everyone was cared for and happy. This is the first group tour I have taken and I was pleasantly surprised. The food was incredible and the accommodations were top drawer. If you are thinking about using Arctic Exposure, do it! You won’t be disappointed!

Steve Skinner
USA

“Iceland has always been a dream destination, so when the opportunity arose to travel there I wanted to maximise my photographic opportunities. Luckily I found Skarpi! My friend and I were so fortunate to have Skarpi as our private guide around South Iceland in summer. As a native Icelander, Skarpi knows the roads and locations like the back of his hand, enabling us to visit the right locations at the best times and always with consideration of the weather. His easy-going nature and sense of humour married well with his professionalism, and his flexibility was a huge bonus. Skarpi expertly drove and guided us, set up camp and rocked a mean barbecue! Camping was great fun and was extremely comfortable. A professional photographer, his images are beautiful and truly inspiring. His advice about what to bring to Iceland, and how best to capture the best images in each location was invaluable. I learned so much about Iceland on this tour – the country, the people, and of course the photographic locations. Because of Skarpi, we were able to view and shoot stunning locations in the best light and from the best aspects. I am thrilled with the images I have taken home and can’t wait to get to Iceland again. I would highly recommend Skarpi for your private or group tour.

Thanks again Skarpi!”

Shanel Cameron
Australia

If you want to see all the beautiful places in Iceland, and capture them in your camera to show the folks back home, take a tour with a professional photographer! I toured with Skarpi and it was AMAZING!!! Not only do I have beautiful images but I learned SOOOO much about my camera that I never learned from the manual. Skarpi is a great photographer and a fun tour guide. Look him up and take a tour!

Tamara Dallas

Hordour = Best Guide Ever! Horour hosted my husband and I for two days in July of 2018 and we experienced a unique and tranquil learning experience from an Icelandic expert. The tour was split to the west peninsula (Snæfellsnes) and then the Golden Circle area; both areas were vastly different and Hordour seamless navigated the areas for a full learning excursion. Hordour connected with us immediately and we enjoyed his sense of humour and his love of the land through his eyes. It was an unforgettable event.

Katharine Miller Diehl

We enjoyed very much our ” Around Iceland in winter ” tour 2018.
The group was pleasant to deal with and Skarpi is a wonderful leader and teacher.

He drove us to wonderful remote spots far from bustle and people enjoying selfies.
These privileged spots were highly inspiring, we were immersed and surrounded by great Icelandic beauty: ideal conditions to find out the best shots.

If the weather was not great, Skarpi found out the best of it, thanks to his magic experience and knowledge of his country … It’s the key!

We have already participated in workshops organized by French and English photographers, but we NEVER spent such an enthusiastic and wonderful time.

We are already planning other excursions with Arctic Exposure.

A special thank you to Jóhann, for his effective and friendly assistance during all the registration process.

Christiane et Andre-Georges Lafosse – France

Christiane et Andre-Georges Lafosse

“A journey among the magnificent beauties of the Highlands of Iceland…!”

August 2018, has been our second trip with Skarpi Thrainsson :
Founder of Arctic Exposure.
We met him first in February 2018, during the fantastic workshop:
« Winter tour around Iceland »

The more we participate, the more enthusiastic we are about him, the tours and his cheerful being with everyone…

As a native Viking, he knows where to drive the group for remote amazing places of an inspiring beauty.
Showing us the well kept secret spots of untouched and breathtaking landscapes.

All these canyons, waterfalls, landscapes were his playing ground as a child, he has hiked them during years, in search of gems of beauty.
He enjoys sharing with us his immense experience of wilderness and his incomparable discoveries

The Highlands are a magic part of Iceland,
However, it’s difficult for non-native to travel there in safety.
We forded rivers,
We rode mainly on a gravel narrow roads….
Special knowledge and vehicle are required.

Each night stay was in comfortable hotels or guesthouses, offering:
Good, comfortable bed.
Great hot shower.
Excellent food.
Friendly atmosphère.
All that we need to recover after a long day out.

Skarpi is generous and manages the trip in order to keep everyone happy and satisfied.
As an expert photographer, he is giving us, during the tour, sound advice

We are French and those are our best workshops, by far.

Our next one will be at Lofoten Islands, in February 2019,
One more time, Johann, the Director of Sales, has been very helpful and efficient during the booking process…

Many thanks to both of them.

Christiane and Andre-Georges from France

LAFOSSE Andre-Georges and Christiane

“This is a dream come true photography tour and is my first time stepping on the land of fire and ice literally. Our tour leader Skarpi, knows the exact timing and good spots to bring us too barring the unpredictable weather. I have learnt a lot from his guidance, especially how to shoot photos if the northern lights that wr saw THREE times during this tour. The accommodation provided was great and so was the food. Above all the shooting comradeship amongst the 8 of us was really fantastic.”

James Tan
Malasya

“We travelled with a small group of people on a photography tour to Iceland in October 2018. The tour was planned with Arctic Exposure. The organization and logistics was perfect to the last detail. The best part is, Arctic Exposure understood our special needs as photographers and facilities were planned accordingly. Our driver Kari was very helpful and cooperative to our needs and was always available to assist us as needed. With his assistance, we were able to plan our norther-lights outings during the nights very well and were able to get the kind of images we needed without having the be bound to a rigid itinerary. Kari also knew the right stopovers for refreshments and conveniences and kept us comfortable all along. Our van with raised axles and large tyres allowed us to drive effortlessly in any road conditions including snow. I would happily recommend the services of Arctic Exposure and Kari to anyone who wishes to travel to Iceland, especially if you are looking to do a lot of photography” – Arun Bhat / Darter Photography.

Arun Bhat

We had a wonderful photography tour with Skarpi, the owner and manager of Artic Exposure. He is extremely knowledgeable about Iceland in general, and the best place for photo ops in particular. Our trip involved travel along the Ring Road. He was able to get us to spots where we were not surrounded by other photographers and sight seers and was very willing to get out at sunrise (3am) and return after sunset 10:30pm) if the weather and conditions were good. He was very accommodating. His vehicle is a top of the line Mercedes bus (nicknamed “the beast”) with lots of room and storage space for luggage and camera gear. The hotels and food along the way were also excellent and well planned.

Wayne Spivey
USA

This was my first trip to Iceland guided by Skarpi and my first time visiting the North of Iceland. All though we were not blessed with the best of weather the trip turned out to be a great trip, the hotels were all excellent with great food, Skarpi took us to some great locations often multiple times trying to get the best possible lighting conditions to shoot in.Skarpis new super truck was a pleasure to ride in very comfortable with leather seats, on board power charging points and mobile wifi, it also gives you the ability to go places where normal cars and vans couldn’t get to especially if the weather turns for the worst a real bonus.Skarpi was an excellent tour leader and tutor as well as being a mine of local information about Iceland’s culture and history.If you are looking at booking a trip to Iceland where you don’t have to worry about anything other than pressing the shutter button on the camera then I highly recommend contacting Skarpi.

Shaun Young
“In February 2014, I went on a 10-day group tour with Skarpi along the Southwest coast. Our small group was guided to the best sites at the time the light was right. In August, on our way to Europe, my wife and I asked Skarpi to create a 4-day tour to photograph puffins on the cliffs at Látrabjarg and landscapes on the way to and from Reykjavik. On our way back to Canada in September, he put together a 2-day tour of the fall colours around Þingvellir National Park and the waterfalls at Hraunfossar. He truly listened to what we wanted to see and photograph and made it happen. We came home with wonderful images of Iceland.”
Cal Towle
Engineer / Vancouver, Canada

“If you want to see all the beautiful places in Iceland, and capture them in your camera to show the folks back home, take a tour with a professional photographer! I toured with Skarpi and it was AMAZING!!! Not only do I have beautiful images but I learned SOOOO much about my camera that I never learned from the manual. Skarpi is a great photographer and a fun tour guide. Look him up and take a tour! Visited October 2014”

Tamara
Dallas, USA

I, along with eight others, took part in the October 2017 Arctic Exposure workshop. A friend of mine, who was on the trip, had told me about the workshop and asked if I was interested. Until he brought the idea up, I had not thought about going to Iceland but after looking into it more I decided to take the workshop. This turned out to be perhaps the best photography trip I have gone on. I cannot recommend Arctic Exposure and Skarpi Thrainsson highly enough. The skill level of the eight participants varied widely but the group came together as a whole very early and shared their knowledge and enthusiasm. Skarpi was outstanding at knowing where to go and when the best times to be at a location were. When the weather did not cooperate he had alternate locations and was flexible in the schedule to allow for extra time when that was warranted. At each location Skarpi offered basic lens suggestions, settings and recommendations for the best places to go to have the best chance of getting a photo that the workshop attendees would want to capture. This was particularly helpful on the three nights that we were fortunate to have clear skies and the Northern Lights. The lodgings we stayed at were all nice and had great locations within close proximity to the areas we were photographing. Given that the cost of the workshop was totally inclusive including food, lodging and travel within Iceland I found the price to be very reasonable.

Gordon Lynn Hufford

Thank you Skarpi for your patience with someone who was a novice amongst some very talented photographers. I learned a lot from you and will continue to go to workshops when I get back home to reinforce and practice what you have taught me. How extra fortunate we were to see the Northern Lights on 3 nights. I am so glad I went to your beautiful country, it was absolutely amazing.

Sylvia Jeffery
Australia

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. It catered for both the beginner and the expert, the super fit and the less fit. We visited many beautiful remote sights and were lucky enough to see some spectacular midnight skies. Örvar our guide ensured we all came away with good photographs and did everything to ensure our trip was enjoyable. Thank you Örvar from Deirdre and myself.

Lou Mooney
United Kingdom

It’s an excellent company in Iceland. Great infrastructure with brand new modified vehicles that allows you to go to exclusive places where other regular vehicles can’t reach. Special congratulations to our guide/driver Aron Reynisson that guided us safely and gave us a lot of photography tips during the tour. He was unwearying chasing the best light and the best spot to fulfil the group expectations. It’s really important a guide that was born and raised in Iceland, to know about the culture, habits, history, weather forecast, northern lights, road conditions, etc. is truly essential… This is possible only with an experienced and professional local guide. The tour ran flawlessly and I strongly recommend this to get the best of Iceland in your memories. Awesome!

Fabio Dornelles

I spent 2 weeks with Skarpi roaming the magical land if Iceland and have the best things to say about this tour. Despite sometimes gloomy weather, locations were great, technical advice was great (and needed), snacks were plentiful, like minded photographers were friendly. Overall a great tour and thanks to Skarpi for lending me his tripod and wide angle zoom. Still not sure about the fermented shark but I’d have more of that schnapps!

Alain G
USA

A journey among the magnificent beauties of the Highlands of Iceland…

August 2018, has been our second trip with Skarpi Thrainsson:
Founder of Arctic Exposure
We met him first in February 2018 during the fantastic workshop:
« Winter tour around Iceland  »

The more we participate, the more enthusiastic we are about him, the tours and his cheerful being with everyone…

As a native Viking, he knows where to drive the group for remote amazing places of an inspiring beauty,
Showing us the well kept secret spots of untouched and breathtaking landscapes.

All these canyons, waterfalls, landscapes were his playing ground as a child, he has hiked them during years, in search of gems of beauty.
He enjoys sharing with us his immense experience of wilderness and his incomparable discoveries

The Highlands are a magic part of Iceland…!
However, it’s difficult for non-native to travel there in safety.
We forded rivers,
We rode mainly on a gravel narrow roads….
Special knowledge and vehicle are required.

Every night stay was in comfortable hotels or guesthouses:
Good, comfortable bed,
Great hot shower.
Excellent food.
All that we need to recover after a long day out.

Skarpi is generous and manages the trip in order to keep everyone happy and satisfied.
As an expert photographer, he is giving us all, during the tour sound advice.

We are French and this is our best workshops, by far.

Our next one is in Lofoten Islands in February 2019,
One more time, Johann, the Director of Sales, has been very helpful and efficient during the booking process

Many thanks to both of them

Christiane and Andre-Georges from France

Andre-Georges and Christiane LAFOSSE

“Iceland had long been on my bucket list of places to visit and to photograph. I was drawn to Skarpi’s offering of a winter workshop, with its focus on ice caves and the aurora borealis. Of course trips of this nature are always subject to weather conditions and other uncontrollable factors. Skarpi has the uncanny ability to read the minutiae of the weather and to seek out locations perfectly situated for the prevailing conditions. He also has an incredible vehicle that can navigate the most difficult terrain possible – and he is fearless in pursuing the right destinations, but does so with extreme safety and precaution. As such we were fortunate to explore some of the off-the-beaten-track sites, and got to photograph incredible vistas. IN addition, Skarpi is just a delightful person, with a deep knowledge of the history and geography of Iceland, as well as a story telling ability to make this incredible country even more enticing. His website provides much information, but so do his regular news feeds leading up to and even following the photo tours. One is never left feeling unprepared. Overall, an incredible experience, highly recommended and one I would be glad to repeat.”

Graham Sher, Ottawa, Canada

My wife and I just completed the June “Around Iceland Photo Workshop” with Skarpi. It was a fantastic trip with great photo opportunities! We learned so much! Skarpi was respectful of everyone’s skill level and creativeness. He helped out and gave individual instructions in a very unobtrusive manner. If you wanted help he was there for you, and if not, he just checked if everything was going OK. His suggestions were always very positive and encouraging; bringing the best out of our photography! There were many late lights taking sunset pictures, but so worth it! We were usually able to photograph when there were no crowds around. Skarpi gave suggestions on the bus as to what lenses may be appropriate at each stop. Skarpi is friendly and easy going with a great sense of humour. The group size was great (only 9 of us), and it was great to travel with photography minded travellers. The bus was comfortable and well maintained. The wi-fi worked very well. All our pre-trip emails to Arctic Exposure were answered promptly, providing all the information requested. The suggested packing list for clothing and photo equipment was sent to us well in advance of the trip. We stayed in really cute and comfortable hotels and guest houses. The food was phenomenal and we were never hungry. It was the trip of a lifetime! Looking forward to attending future workshops with Skarpi!!!

Garth Walker
Canada

“In one word “nice”, in two words “veeery nice”. On the road with Skarpi is a dream, he gets you to the right places at the right moments, he’s always willing to help you and has a lot of respect for everyone. If you’re advanced or just at the beginning of your photographic path it doesn’t matter. Since he was born in Iceland he knows the island better than anyone else. I think this is also important because once you’re off the beaten track you could easily get lost or be in danger without noticing it. I’ve been happy to have the opportunity to join him twice and look forward to join him again in march for exploring the northern part of Iceland. Actually the first time I came alone from little Belgium and didn’t know what to expect, but from the moment you meet Skarpi you know you’re on the right place with him to enjoy Iceland, to laugh and of course to photograph all these magnificent landscapes. So for me travelling with Skarpi is five stars ***** But beware, he likes chocolates :-)”

Edward De Bruyn, Belgium
 “I signed up for Skarpi’s 2015 Summer Photo Tour around Iceland based on the itinerary, quality of the photography I saw on his site, and format of the tour.  The tour exceeded my expectations.
 Skarpi ran the tour very smoothly. He has a friendly, relaxed and laid back personality, but works very hard to accommodate the tour participants preferences and to adapt the daily schedule of shoots to best take advantage of the current weather and light conditions. Having spent his life exploring Iceland, Skarpi has a detailed knowledge of the best photographic locations, and the best light suitable for each location.  Incidentally, this knowledge also extends to the best places to eat – we had delicious food throughout the tour!
 Skarpi is a superb photographer and if you have any questions, Skarpi is very helpful providing instruction and sharing his knowledge.  If you would rather be left alone while shooting, Skarpi will readily accommodate.
 I had a great time and am very happy with the images and memories I brought back from this tour. Much of it was due to Skarpi’s deep knowledge of Iceland and light and to making sure we were at the right locations at the right times.”
Jean-Marc Bara
USA

This comes three months after the workshop I participated in has completed. When I was weighing my options and planning my trip to Iceland I knew photography was going to be a major focus. The offerings of Arctic Exposure appealed to me and I reached out to sign up. Jóhann was extremely helpful when responding to my inquiries and so I joined.

I was fortunate to find myself with fellow participants who helped me with my photography and as for Skarpi who led our workshop, I believe he went above and beyond to ensure our trip would be an enjoyable and enriching experience. If nothing else, my palate had no complaints with Skarpi’s food recommendations.

One thing I was able to take away from Skarpi’s tips is how to photograph the aurora, which, our group was lucky enough to experience – twice! If I forget everything else that I learned that time, I at least would be more comfortable using manual focus now.

Now, three months later and the euphoria faded, I look back and still feel the enjoyment of the workshop – and that’s including me breaking one of my equipment on the first day.

I have no complaints except that the end arrived pretty quickly. I guess that is proof of us having fun. I am eagerly planning for the next workshop.

John Astillero

“We’ve been working with Skarpi as our local guide in Iceland for years. Not only is he an amazing pro photographer, but so much more: leader, instructor, driver (anything from a car to a super-Jeep to a 40+ passenger bus!), organizer, and all-around good guy. Skarpi is a native Icelander – a true Viking! Skarpi knows every bit of Iceland like no other, having photographed, hiked, fished and traveled the entire country since he was a child. This experience, combined with his friendly, unflappable nature, is so important. From trip planning and logistics, to getting in the precise spot at the exact time for amazing photographs, Skarpi does it all. Any tour or workshop that Skarpi does is going to be filled with amazing photography, loads of instruction and fun, and run smoothly. A guaranteed great time!”

Andy Williams

Top notch experience! Everything from assistance before the trip to help me be fully prepared to the actual trip was outstanding. Our guide, Orvar, is a first-rate photographer that helped with guidance and tips that really helped improve my photography. We were taken to less travelled outstanding locations, which was really appreciated. Lodging and food were exceptional. Every step of the trip was focused on our success and satisfaction. I really can’t wait to schedule my next trip with Arctic Exposure! You won’t go wrong with this group.

Richard DeYoung

If you are giving the slightest thought to going on a photo tour with this company, just stop thinking and sign up right this moment. From the initial reservation process to arranging details of the trip, Johann is excellent in assisting you with whatever concerns and problems you might have. He is very responsive and goes out of his way to help things go as smoothly as possible. As for the trip itself, I took the 10 day highlands trip with Orvar as my guide. Aside from being a very accomplished photographer, he is a wealth of information about all things Iceland. He is excellent in dealing with weather conditions and getting you to the right spot for the best possible weather and light conditions in which to photograph. I usually prefer planning photography trips on my own and have spent 5 weeks in Iceland without a guide, but I can say that the 10 days that I spent with Orvar, were the best 10 days I had in Iceland

Jack Kurtz
USA

“We are happy to have joined Skarpi for our first visit to Iceland in February 2015. The weather in Iceland can be challenging at times with high winds, rain or snow. Despite the conditions, under the guidance of Skarpi, we were able to capture South Iceland’s raw beauty – amazing ice cave, mystical aurora, dramatic black sand beaches, ice covered waterfalls, expansive glaciers, beautiful sunrise and sunsets, gentle Icelandic horses and of course many stunning landscapes. Skarpi satisfied our appetite to photograph by getting us to the right places at the right times. While doing that he kept us safe, comfortable and well fed, and took care of our special needs. We are eager for our next trip when Skarpi can show us more and different locations.”

Ralph Hill
USA

I participated in a ten day photo workshop in Iceland’s highlands. All I can say it was a terrific experience. Örvar A. Þorgeirsson was an excellent leader. His knowledge of the spots to be, at the right time of day was outstanding. Arctic Exposure’s vehicle was excellent for the rough roads and frequent river crossing. Our accommodations were also very good as were the meals. First class.

Charles Dugand
USA

Incredible the Faroe Islands workshop, amazing locations, super comfortable hotels and Skarpi was an outstanding workshop leader with deep location insights, very understanding and the right mix of support. Thanks, guys for a wonderful workshop.

Chris English
USA

 

 

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions about our tours or workshops at info@arcticexposure.is or fill out the form below.